Bad tournament result

From 2 to 9 august 2008 i played in the Hoge Zeeland international tournament, Vlissingen, The Netherlands. It wasn’t my tournament. I played badly and only managed to score 4.0 points out of 9 games. A normal score would be atleast 5.0 points.

My scoresheet:

Round

Rating opp.

Nationality opp.

My colour

Result

Overall result

1

1435 N

The Netherlands

White

1

1.0

2

2202 F

The Netherlands

White

Draw

1.5

3

2202 F

Belgium

Black

0

1.5

4

1659 N

The Netherlands

Black

0

1.5

5

1777 N

Belgium

White

0

1.5

6

1661 N

The Netherlands

Black

Draw

2.0

7

1628 N

The Netherlands

White

1

3.0

8

1725 N

The Netherlands

Black

1

4.0

9

1734 N

The Netherlands

White

0

4.0

 Rating opp.: N = national rating; F=Fide rating

The reason for my bad result i can find in not having played for three months, playing to quick, missing threats, miscalculation and playing the second move instead of the first move of my calculations.

To end i will give you an example of moving to quickly.

After 15. … f6

Here i played immediatly 16. Qh5+ but the better move is offcourse 16. Ba5+ which wins the game much easier. Namely 16. Ba5+ Nxa5 (16. … Nd7 17. Bxd7+ Qxd7 18. Nxd7 with a Q to B advantage for white) 17. Qxa5+ Bc6 18. Qxc6+ Qd7 19. Qxd7# So next time i better go sit on my hands before i move, or find a good thoughtprocess.

 

 

7 Comments on “Bad tournament result”

  1. tomg says:

    Hey there!

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I am still new to chess AND blogging but I would say just write about what you feel like writing about. Your games, your study plans, favorite movies. I think it is all good!

    Have a good one,

    Tommyg

  2. chesstiger says:

    @tomg

    Thanks, i will keep your tips in mind.

  3. I think not playing for 3 months is enough to do bad and
    is the reason for missing threats. Hope you do better next time. Great example, would be interesting to see “good” ones too, like combination, endgame, etc. Thanks for the comments on my blog, I really liked them.

  4. likesforests says:

    “Strenght is more important then rating” =>
    “Strength is more important than rating”

    You had not played in 3 months. Next time you will be less rusty and surely score better.

  5. chesstiger says:

    @ Rolling pawns
    My thoughtproces wasn’t uptimum during that tournament. Heck, i even wish i have a “goog” thoughtproces. Guess that’s part of my studyplan.

    @ likesforest
    I felt rusty, especially the first four games. But that cant be the only explanation. Another part is probably that now i am (trying) to learn tactics i am playing a bit more active then positional chess like i used to and it needs time to get used to.

  6. Polly says:

    Welcome to the chess blogosphere! I see I wasn’t the only one to catch your typo. It’s strength, not strenght. 🙂

    As I said in my response to your comment on my blog, write what you want. Every blogger has their own style, and their blog reflects them. You’ve certainly have found your way to some excellent bloggers out there, all who have their own style.

    Good luck with your training. The rust will wear off as you play more.

  7. chesstiger says:

    @ Polly

    I will try to develop my own style which is hopefully intresting to read.
    Thanks for the welcoming!


Leave a Reply

